SEG 2019 Awards Ceremony – October 8, 2019 Sheraton Santiago Hotel and Convention Center, Santiago, Chile



Anthony ("Willy") Williams-Jones received the 2018 R.A.F. Penrose Gold Medal from SEG President Doug Kirwin in recognition of a lifetime of outstanding work in the earth sciences. Willy, in turn, thanked the many people who have shared their research and made an impact on his life and work.



SEG Silver Medal recipient for 2018, Andreas Audétat, was unable to attend the conference. Adam Simon, his citationist, accepted the award for Andreas from President Kirwin.



Yongjun Lu, the SEG Waldemar Lindgren awardee for 2018, was cited for early career achievements in the science. Because citationist Cam McCuaig was unable to attend, Dave Cooke read the speech, which noted that in addition to being an outstanding researcher, Yongjun "is also is a truly fantastic person."

The Ralph W. Marsden Award for outstanding service to the Society was presented to Stuart Simmons. In listing Stuart's various volunteer activities, SEG Publications Board Chairman Shaun Barker read off the many committees on which he has served, adding as an aside that Stuart had received the SEG Silver Medal in 2014.



David Braxton received the Brian J. Skinner Award for 2018 as the lead author of the outstanding paper published in *Economic Geology* during the year. With co-authors David R. Cooke, Allan M. Ignacio, and Patrick J. Waters, he produced "Geology of the Boyongan and Bayugo Porphyry Cu-Au Deposits: An Emerging Porphyry District in Northeast Mindanao, Philippines."



John Proffett was named the SEG Distinguished Lecturer for 2019.



Yasushi Watanabe was the SEG International Exchange Lecturer for 2019.

